Whybin\TBWA Wins Agency Of The Year At Catalogue Awards

  • Chemmart - General Pharmacy
  • Peta Granger - Lush Director - Skincare and Sustainability
  • Peta Granger - Lush Director - Skincare and Sustainability 2
  • Genevieve Blackman - Murphy's Publications Coordinator - Best in Class
  • Koshtana Chokljat -Production Manager Trout Creative - Judges Choice
  • Jenny Calcott and Gemma Glanville - WhybinTBWA 1
  • Chelsea Hinchliffe - Publications Manager Dan Murphy's - Technology on Paper
  • Dave Thornton
  • ACA Board
1 / 11

Whybin\TBWA was crowned ‘Agency of the Year’ on Friday at the 24th Annual Australasian Catalogue Awards, recognising creativity, diversity and effectiveness of catalogue and shopper marketing.

With retailers, creatives, agencies and producers in the same room there was a great deal of excitement amongst the 684 guests for the much anticipated Agency of the Year Award.

Newcomers to the Awards last year, Whybin\TBWA were triumphant for their work on revitalising the David Jones brand. Not only winning Agency of the Year, Whybin\TBWA also took home four category wins for ‘W15 Home Book’, ‘Denim Destiny’, ‘Explore Beauty’ and the ‘S14 Christmas Book’.

Whybin\TBWA succeeded over stiff competition with finalists including Clemenger BBDO for Myer, Generic Publications for Harvey Norman and Domayne, and Red Jelly for Dan Murphy’s.

Jenny Calcott of Whybin\TBWA said on the night: “We are delighted to have claimed the title of Agency of the Year. Working with David Jones has been terrific and the team are completely dedicated. It’s certainly been an honour and we’re very proud of our efforts. The other finalists were all very deserving and it’s great to see just how much talent there is in the industry right now.”

The finalists were equally delighted – “A big congratulations to the entire Dan Murphy’s team! Our catalogue creative is so hard working and a big part of Dan Murphy’s multi-channel marketing campaign. We are thrilled to come out with some winners on the night – it’s been a great year for us!” Genevieve Blackman, publications coordinator at Dan Murphy’s.

“Myer are working hard to push the medium to a new fashionable level. Stylised catalogues deliver quality brand messages. The brand is committed to working within a multi-channel environment and winning the ‘Multi-channel Campaign’ Award for Myer’s ‘Bringing Back Wonderful’ was a stand out for all the creative and marketing teams at both Clemenger BBDO and Myer,” commented Natalie Warren- Smith, general manager marketing strategy and communications at Myer.

Trout Creative took out the award for ‘Judge’s Choice’ for its re-positioning of Reece ‘The Spring Bathroom’. “I am so thrilled for the team that we won this award! We are so proud of the work we produced and especially because we appreciate the great importance and pivotal role the catalogue plays within Reece’s sales and marketing mix. This catalogue was all about communicating the quality and style of the Reece offering and I’m so glad that the industry recognised how we pushed the catalogue to a new level,” said Koshtana Chokljat, production manager at Trout Creative.

Kellie Northwood, chief executive officer, ACA said of the night: “It is always a terrific event to celebrate a rich, diverse and creative industry. Some 77 per cent of the population engaged with a catalogue in the past month and these figures continue to rise proving that this is an exciting time to be a part of the industry. Special congratulations goes to Whybin\TBWA for being honored as Agency of the Year.

“This is a standout achievement and reflective of the wonderful work they are delivering for David Jones. With an Audience Reach at 19.7M, higher than any other media channel and readership on the increase, the ‘Catalogue’ is very much back in vogue.”

The Major Australasian Catalogue Awards Winners and Finalists:

Agency of the Year (Sponsored by Fairfax Media)

WINNER – Whybin/TBWA for David Jones
FINALISTS – Red Jelly for Dan Murphy’s, Clemenger BBDO for Myer, Generic Publications for Domayne and Harvey Norman

Best Young Designer (Sponsored by Sierra Delta and Offset Alpine Printing)

WINNER – Joshua Wallace of Chemist Warehouse
FINALISTS – Amanda Ellis of PFG Australia, Erin Wheeler of Generic Publications, Teya Evans of Ideaworks

Best Young Talent (Sponsored by Stora Enso)

WINNER – Justin Pigozzo of Rivers
FINALIST – Carly Sexton of Kmart, Carlo Mezzini of Stratco, Sarah Bragg of Kmart

Judge’s Choice (Sponsored by Australia Post)

WINNER – Reece produced by Trout Creative
FINALISTS – Castle Towers Shopping Centre produced by Plump and Spry, David Jones produced by Whybin\TBWA, Peter Alexander produced by Paper, Stone Scissors and Haven Licensing

Catalogue Retailer of the Year – Up to 1.5M (Sponsored by Norske Skog)

WINNER – David Jones
FINALISTS – Chemmart, Myer, Nutrimetics

Catalogue Retailer of the Year – Up to 3.5M (Sponsored by Norske Skog)

WINNER – Domayne
FINALISTS – Harvey Norman, Telstra, The Good Guys

Catalogue Retailer of the Year – Over 3.5M (Sponsored by Norske Skog)

WINNER – Dan Murphy’s
FINALISTS – Chemist Warehouse, Kmart, Woolworths

Please login with linkedin to comment

Collaboration GHG Australia Stephen Scheeler

Latest News