News Corp Announces News Awards Finalists

News Corp Announces News Awards Finalists

News Corp has announced its 2019 News Awards finalists.

The awards – now in their 15th year – capture and represent the diversity and breadth of News’ storytelling across broadcast, digital, print and book publishing that reaches more than 16 million Australians a month.


For the first time, Fox Sports stars Shane Warne and Andrew Johns are finalists: Warne for commentary, Johns for a revealing personal interview with rugby league immortal brother Andrew.

Sky News has been nominated for specialist journalism after successfully branching out into documentary series with Bad Blood on the Liberal leadership crisis and Lawyer X.

The Herald Sun’s five-year campaign to reveal the alleged activities of Lawyer X barrister-turned police-informer Nicola Gobbo and failures at the highest level of law enforcement is also a finalist.

Other campaigning journalism vying for awards include the Brisbane Sunday Mail’s expose of regional maternity unit closures, Mercury’s Let Her Speak campaign supporting sex assault victims in Tasmania and News360’s success in getting free heart health checks.

The technology and coverage innovations which have been significant drivers of the successful launches of the new Fox Cricket channel and Kayo sport streaming service are also recognised.

Executive chairman for News Corp Australasia Michael Miller said the News Awards honoured the values and spirit of News Corp to be bold, courageous, creative and passionate.

Miller said: “2019 has been a brilliant year for storytelling across the News Corp Australia family.”

“From broadcast to digital, print and books, we’ve told stories that have moved, inspired and informed the nation.

“The commitment to professional and trusted journalism, and passionately serving our many communities demonstrated in the entries makes me proud of the people who work at News.”

The winners will be announced at the 2019 News Awards event later this year.

The 2019 News Awards finalists:

Young Journalist of the Year

●      Chanel Kinniburgh – The Mercury

●      Natalie Wolfe –

●      Tamsin Rose – Herald Sun

Innovation in Journalism

●      John McGourty – News Local: Digital masthead rollout

●      Jon Ralph, Glenn McFarlane and Daniel Freeman – Herald Sun: Sacked AFL coaches series

●      Matt Weiss – Fox Sports: Fox Cricket

●      Tanya French, Geoff Egan, John Croucher, Mark Flack and Sarah Lunney – The Courier-Mail, NRM and The Advertiser: Schools Hub

Visual Journalism of the Year

●      Alex Coppel – Herald Sun

●      Jason Edwards – Herald Sun

●      Phil Hillyard – The Daily Telegraph

●      Toby Zerna – The Daily Telegraph

Keith McDonald Award (Business Journalist of the Year)

●      Bridget Carter – The Australian

●      John Stensholt – The Australian

●      Ticky Fullerton – Sky News

Achievements in Sports Journalism

●      Jamie Pandaram – The Daily Telegraph

●      Leo Schlink – Herald Sun

●      Yvonne Sampson – Fox Sports

Achievements in Specialist Journalism

●      Grant McArthur and Alex Coppel – Herald Sun

●      Sky News

●      Tom Sangster – The Daily Telegraph

Interview of the Year

●      Andrew Bolt – Sky News: Liberal MP Gladys Liu

●      Damon Kitney – The Australian: James Packer

●      Matty Johns – Fox Sports: Andrew Johns

Achievements in Commentary and Opinion

●      Adam Creighton – The Australian

●      Joe Hildebrand –

●      Shane Warne – Fox Sports

Outstanding Achievements in Reporting

●      Anthony Dowsley and Patrick Carlyon – Herald Sun

●      Greg Bearup, Eric George, Nicholas Adams-Dzierzba and Charlie Peel – The Australian

●      Yoni Bashan and Claire Harvey – The Sunday Telegraph

Bill Leak Cartoonist of the Year

●      Eric Lobbecke – The Australian

●      Mark Knight – Herald Sun

●      Warren Brown – The Daily Telegraph

Headline of the Year

●      Andrew Piva – Geelong Advertiser

●      Baz McAlister – The Courier-Mail

●      Matt Williams, Stuart Thornton and Julian Ricci – NT News

Achievements in Campaigns

●      Jackie Sinnerton and Antonia O’Flaherty – The Sunday Mail: Bush Baby Crisis

●      Sue Dunlevy, Justin Lees, John Barker, Kathy Lipari and Evie White – News360: Serial Killer

●      Kate de Brito and Chris Jones – and The Mercury: Let Her Speak

 Scoop of the Year

●      Anna Caldwell – The Daily Telegraph

●      Brenden Hills – The Sunday Telegraph

●      Steven Wardill – The Courier-Mail

Achievements in Regional Journalism

●      Chris Jones – The Mercury

●      Jenna Cairney – Townsville Bulletin

●      Paul Murray – Sky News: LIVE Our Town

Achievements in Community Journalism

●      Ashleigh Pisani and Kate Uren – Portside Messenger

●      Eliza Barr – St George Shire Standard

●      Jake McCallum – News Local

Magazine/Lifestyle Brand of the Year

●      Delicious

●      Qantas Magazine

●      Wish

Brand of the Year

●      *The finalists and winner will be announced at the News Awards event

Sir Keith Murdoch Award (Journalist of the Year)

●      *The finalists and winner will be announced at the News Awards event


Please login with linkedin to comment

News Awards News Corp

Latest News