Players Named For Industry’s ‘Big Clash’ Cricket Tournament

Players Named For Industry’s ‘Big Clash’ Cricket Tournament

With over 50 companies taking part, this year’s ‘Big Clash’ cricket tournament is set to be the biggest yet.

Now in its fourth year, the annual cricket event brings the media, marketing and advertising industry together for a fun afternoon of cricket, music and entertainment, all while aiming to raise $100,000 for young people at risk.

This year, the first game sees the Techies pitted against the Media Owners, followed by the Creatives against the Media Agencies.

The tournament kicks off this Thursday (8 February) in Sydney, followed by the final leg in Melbourne on Thursday 15 February.

UnLtd is encouraging everyone in the industry to come down on the day to cheer their team, enjoy free drinks and food and to meet some of the UnLtd charity partners for what will be a fun and highly competitive afternoon.

Here are the player lists for the respective teams:


Media Owners (supporting Sydney Story Factory):

  • Rob Atkinson, ARN (captain)
  • Oliver Newton, JCDecaux
  • Sean Rigby, oOh!media
  • Anthony Bartram, Adshel
  • Jack Archdale, Nova
  • James Mielnik, MCN
  • Tristan Wyse, Val Morgan
  • Chris Norris, Val Morgan
  • Richard Brown, News Corp
  • Lee Cormack, Nine
  • James Bannerman, The Guardian
  • Dan Favaloro, Ten

Techies (supporting Backtrack):

  • Guy Burbidge, Quantcast (captain)
  • Matthew Coote, Snapchat
  • Johnny Style, Domain
  • Chris Wood and Jewel Hossain, REA Gorup
  • Ian Wheeler, Twitter
  • Michael Visser, PlayersVoice
  • Sebastian Graham, Yahoo7
  • Mike Langford, Google
  • Fiona Roberts, InMobi
  • Ben Nolan, GumGum
  • Jon Stubley, GumGum

Media Agencies (supporting Missing School):

  • Mark Jarrett, PHD (captain)
  • Nick Tanfield, OMD
  • Sean Richardson, M2M
  • Ben McCallum, MediaCom
  • Troy Mulder, Mindshare
  • Jeff Ewing, Blue 449
  • Jason Bradner, Spark Foundry
  • Stephen Wang, Zenith
  • Dom Weatherhead, Carat
  • Heath Irving, Amplifi
  • Simon Grace, UM
  • Nick Wokes, Initiative

Creatives (supporting Be Centre):

  • Russel Hopson, M&C Saatchi (captain)
  • Humphrey Taylor, The Monkeys
  • Michael Hogg, Maud
  • Dan Smith, TBWA
  • Richie Kenzie, B&T
  • Emile van Schalkwyk, Ikon
  • Vijay Solanki, IAB
  • Alex Hayes, Clear Hayes Consulting
  • Baljit Singh, Talent Rise
  • Erin Hunter, MKTG
  • Kerry McCabe, PlayersVoice
  • Patrick Whitnall, Publicis


  • Rosie Baker, AdNews
  • Vivienne Kelly, Mumbrella
  • Arvind Hickman, AdNews
  • Peter Kite, METS Legal


Media Owners (supporting Mirabel Foundation):

  • Tim Murphy, oOh!media (captain)
  • Bryce Crosswell, JCDecaux
  • Mike Riach, Adshel
  • Kai Battaglene, ARN
  • James Hansford, Nova
  • Ben Sumpter, MCN
  • Richard Marks, Val Morgan
  • Jarryd Gaggin, Val Morgan
  • Travis Kitching, News Corp
  • Mike Hegerty, Nine
  • Tony Bell, The Guardian

Techies (supporting Big Brother Big Sister):          

  • Andrew Knowles, Domain (captain)
  • George Wellington, Domain
  • Angus Keene, Twitter
  • Daniel O’Connor, Quantcast
  • Paul Widdis, PlayersVoice
  • Dan Kearney, Yahoo7
  • Sean McDonell, Google
  • Tiffany Damm, InMobi
  • Harley Ramien, Bonzai
  • Dan Hobbs, GumGum
  • Joe Frazer, Amnet

Media agencies (supporting Whitelion):     

  • Mark Coad, PHD (captain)
  • Nik Doble, OMD
  • Luke Hutchison, M2M
  • Willie Pang, MediaCom
  • Trevor Crook, Mindshare
  • Garth Moring, Blue 449
  • Peter Butler, Spark Foundry
  • Ashwin Govender, Carat
  • Anne-Marie Tanke, Amplifi
  • Rahul DeNoronha, UM
  • Simon Reid, Initiative

Creatives (supporting Musicians Making a Difference):

  • Navin Arunasalam, The Monkeys (captain)
  • Tomas Sabbatucci, Maud
  • Mark Jones, TBWA
  • Chris Freel, UnLtd
  • Jason Pho, Talent Rise
  • Andy Cairns, M&C Saatchi
  • Taylor Maher, MKTG
  • Wade James, oOh!media
  • Dan Howlett, oOh!media
  • John Thompson, dentsu X
  • Zeus Irani, sentsu X
  • Dominic Brook, MMAD


  • Nick Swift, Amplifi
  • Alex Pekish, Amplifi



Date: Thursday 8 February 2018

Location: Oval 1, Sydney University, Camperdown, NSW 2006


Date: Thursday 15 February 2018

Location: Fawkner Park, South Yarra followed by Bells Hotel


11.30am-1pm: game 1 (Media Owners v Techies)

12.30pm-2.30pm: BBQ lunch for all players and supporters

1.30pm-3pm: game 2 (Media Agencies v Creatives)

3.30pm-5pm: grand final

5pm-9pm: food, drink, presentations, music, and charity auction


Please login with linkedin to comment

The Big Clash UNLTD

Latest News

Mark Zuckerberg, chief executive officer of Facebook Inc., listens as Narendra Modi, India's prime minister, not pictured, speaks during a town hall meeting at Facebook headquarters in Menlo Park, California, U.S., on Sunday, Sept. 27, 2015. Prime Minister Modi plans on connecting 600,000 villages across India using fiber optic cable as part of his
  • Technology

“No F*cking Way!”: Pink Floyd Frontman Refused To Give Mark Zuckerberg Rights To Song

Roger Waters, co-founder of Pink Floyd, said he refused to give Mark Zuckerberg the rights to use hit song Another Brick in the Wall (Part Two). Waters was speaking at a pro-Julian Assange event when he said that he had been offered a “huge, huge amount of money” for the use of the 1979 hit […]

by B&T Magazine

B&T Magazine
Accor Celebrates Aussie & NZ Cities With New ‘Go ALL Out’ Campaign
  • Campaigns

Accor Celebrates Aussie & NZ Cities With New ‘Go ALL Out’ Campaign

Hospitality giant Accor is shining a light on the joy of cities through its newest campaign, ‘Go ALL Out’, which launches in Australia and New Zealand today. The gateway to the ‘Go ALL Out’ campaign is ALL – Accor Live Limitless, a lifestyle loyalty program that integrates rewards, services and experiences throughout the Accor portfolio […]

Marketing Firm Silverbean Set To Double Headcount To Support New Client Wins
  • Marketing

Marketing Firm Silverbean Set To Double Headcount To Support New Client Wins

Global affiliate and partner marketing firm Silverbean has secured new contracts with 13 major Australian brands and is now working to double the size of its Asia-Pacific team. Silverbean launched in Australia in 2019 and has seen steady growth through its work with retailers. Now, with 15 new brands joining the Silverbean portfolio, the agency […]

Xandr Launches New Guide Exploring The Future Of Identity
  • Advertising
  • Technology

Xandr Launches New Guide Exploring The Future Of Identity

Xandr, AT&T’s advanced advertising company, today released “Shaping the Future of Identity,” an industry guide exploring the approaches for buyers and sellers, as well as market participants, as they evaluate identity solutions in preparation for a future without third-party cookies.

GTI Appoints New GM Of Marketing & Strategy, Snares Fresh Client
  • Marketing

GTI Appoints New GM Of Marketing & Strategy, Snares Fresh Client

Tourism PR and marketing agency GTI has announced the appointment of longtime media executive Jenny Pham as its new general manager of marketing and strategy. Pham (pictured above) will lead the agency’s marketing division with responsibility for strategy, media and consumer marketing, while GTI founder and managing director Sarah Anderson remains as the day-to-day lead […]

Hospitality Networking Platform Clipboard Launches Equity Crowdfunding Campaign
  • Campaigns
  • Marketing

Hospitality Networking Platform Clipboard Launches Equity Crowdfunding Campaign

Clipboard, a free professional networking platform for the hospitality industry, has announced it will seek to raise its next round of funding via equity crowdfunding platform Birchal. This will power its vision to transform the way the fragmented hospitality industry connects, shares experiences, markets and recruits. With a growing member database of over 24,000 hospitality […]