Entries Open for Australian Commercial Radio Awards

Entries Open for Australian Commercial Radio Awards

Entries are open for the 27th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs).the awards will be held at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday, October 10.

The ACRAs are a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar with the Awards attracting the industry’s stars, personalities and media executives from around Australia.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said: “This year promises to be another outstanding event, celebrating the wonderful talent within the radio industry. With the increase in competition, particularly between breakfast and drive teams around the country, we hope to receive record entries this year,” said Ms Warner.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 34 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members across networks and associated industries. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Last year’s winners included: Best On Air Team (FM), Jonesy & Amanda (WS FM101.7); Best On Air Team (AM), Ross Stevenson and John Burns (Melbourne 3AW); Best Current Affairs, Neil Mitchell (Melbourne 3AW); Best Talk Presenter, Ben Fordham (2GB); Best Sports Presenter, Ray Warren (Triple M Sydney SCA); Best Newcomer on air, Melissa Doyle (smoothfm) and Best News Presenter, Glenn Daniel (smoothfm).

Last year’s ACRAs were held in Melbourne and hosted by Shane Jacobson and more than 1200 people attended. The announcement of this year’s host, presenters and entertainment will follow in the coming months.

Ms Warner said a feature of the Awards is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry.

Last year’s inductee was respected radio and media industry executive, Peter Harvie. Previous inductees have included Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Tony Pilkington, Graham Mott, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, Bob Rogers, Paul Thompson and Kevin Blyton. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry wide executive judging committee.

Click here, for more information about the ACRAs.

Entries for this year’s Awards close on 22 May 2015.

Please login with linkedin to comment

digital trends Dyson Ten

Latest News