SBS Named Australia’s Most LGBTI-Friendly Brand

SBS Named Australia’s Most LGBTI-Friendly Brand

Public broadcaster SBS has been awarded Australia’s most gay-friendly brand announced at the Australian LGBTI Awards in Sydney on Friday night. SBS’s CEO Michael Ebeid is in the main photo holding the winning trophy.

See the full list of winners at the bottom of this article.

Other winners included: pioneer activist Peter De Waal, who took home the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award; Orange Is the New Blackw won the Public Award for Film, TV, & Web Series. While the Marketing Campaign Award went to Airbnb.

Screen shot 2018-03-05 at 10.37.56 AM

Hosted by SBS presenter Patrick Abboud, the evening saw an incredible who’s who of the LGBTI community descend on The Star for the special red carpet gala.

Attendees included Orange Is the New Black’s Yael Stone and Danielle Brooks, Lucy Lawless (Xena: Warior Princess)and comedian Jordan Raskopoulos.

Screen shot 2018-03-05 at 10.37.40 AM

“A huge congratulations to all of our fantastic award winners tonight,” said Australian LGBTI Awards director, Silke Bader. “These past months, it’s been amazing to finally starting to see some traction towards equality, opportunity and fair treatment for all. Such great strides would be impossible without their tireless contributions.”

Over 11,000 nominations were received across 16 categories including Celebrity of the Year, Sports Personality of the Year, Celebrity Ally, Brand and Marketing Campaign, Community Initiative/Charity and Inspirational Role Model.

There are two main groups to the awards, the Public Award Category and the Corporate Award Category. The Public Award categories are entirely decided by the public vote.

2018 winners:

Brand – SBS

Destination- Vienna

International celebrity – Conchita Wurst

Ally – Bindi Irwin

Film, TV & web series – Orange Is The New Black

Presenter – Joel Creasey

Communitive initiative – Sydney Swans

Hero – Kerryn Phelps

LGBTI celebrity – Magda Szubanski

Marketing campaign – Airbnb

Music artist – Beccy Cole

Sports personality – Casey Dellacqua

Politician – Alex Greenwich

Organisation – Brown-Forman

Corporate winners:

Diversity champion – Ross Wetherbee (CBA)

LGBTI employee network group – Australia Post

Inspirational role model – Alan Joyce (Qantas)

Lifetime achievement award – Peter De Waal


Please login with linkedin to comment

LGBTI Awards Michael Ebeid SBS

Latest News