Osher Günsberg Named Chair Of Judges For The Australian Podcast Awards

Osher Günsberg Named Chair Of Judges For The Australian Podcast Awards
B&T Magazine
Edited by B&T Magazine

The Australian Podcast Awards (APAs) powered by iHeart have announced that Osher Günsberg, an industry leader in the podcast space, is the Chair of Judge for the APAs.

2021’s winners included Laura Byrne and Brittney Hockley’s Life Uncut, Julia Gillard’s A Podcast of One’s Own and Brooke Boney and Linda Marigliano’s Brooke and Linda’s Dream Club.

As part of his duties as Chair of Judge, Osher has appointed several judges that will form part of the world-class panel of local and international judges that will bring in a range of different perspectives to the awards this year.

Osher Günsberg, Chair of Judges at the Australian Podcast Awards, said: “Podcasts are a form of spoken- art. Nothing beats the authenticity and intimacy of podcasting.

“It has been incredible to see the growth of podcasting in Australia, and I am honoured to celebrate the top local podcasting talent we have had this year by appointing some of the top industry leaders and podcasting royalty to be part of the panel of judges to bring fresh and diverse perspectives to this year’s Australian Podcast Awards.”

The judging panel includes a list of well-known personalities, industry veterans and audiophiles who will determine the best Australian podcasts together.

A few names to note on this year’s judging panel are:

  • Media personality, and podcaster, Georgia Love.
  • Head of digital audio at ARN’s iHeartPodcast Network, Corey Layton,
  • Triple J Presenter, Emma Georgiadis,
  • ARN podcast operations executive, Gabi Price.
  • Commissioning editor at SBS, Marissa McDowell.
  • Partnerships lead at Spotify, Prithi Dey.

The APAs independent judging panel also unites talent from the nation’s leading podcast production houses, including Spotify, Acast, ARN/ iHeartRadio, LiSTNR, SoundCartel, SBS, SCA and Piccolo Podcasts.

Matt Deegan, Director at the Australian Podcast Awards, said: “We are thrilled to announce industry leader, Osher Günsberg as our Chair of Judge for the sixth year of the awards.

“The judging panel is world-class and will bring new perspectives to this year’s awards. It isn’t strictly audio experts. Instead, we ensure that each category has a broad mix of people from podcasting and outside of podcasting to give different viewpoints.

“It is incredible to see the content Australian creators are bringing to the table, sparking new conversations worldwide.”

The judging commenced last week and will continue over the next two weeks. Category winners will be announced at the event in November, in person, at the awards ceremony at Seymour Theatre on Monday, 21st November, from 7 – 11 pm.

Please login with linkedin to comment

APA Osher Gunsberg

Latest News