“Mr Cricket” Mike Hussey Joins Macquarie Media’s Commentary Team

“Mr Cricket” Mike Hussey Joins Macquarie Media’s Commentary Team

Macquarie Media has announced an expanded cricket broadcast commentary line-up for this summer that will feature some of the game’s most recognised names.

The radio network’s commentary team for the 2016-17 cricket season will include regulars Ian Chappell, Glenn McGrath, Damien Fleming, Dean Jones, Greg Matthews, Carl Rackemann, Tom Moody, Barry Richards, and John Emburey while former Test batsman Mike Hussey (who is affectionately known as “Mr Cricket” for his enthusiasm for the game).

Bruce Eva, head of Macquarie Radio’s Summer of Cricket, said the team was delighted to be adding Hussey to its ranks.

“Mike represented Australia across all three formats of the game in more than 300 matches, and was loved and respected by the cricketing public for his precision, courage and class,” Eva said.

“He will need all of those traits when locking horns with his co-commentators as they dissect all of the summer’s biggest battles.”

Commenting on his new role, Hussey said he was honoured to join such an illustrious group of former players as part of Macquarie’s cricket commentary team.

“Having only just finished playing, I’m looking forward to comparing my views on cricket at the highest level with these guys,” Hussey said.

“I know their commentary style is that of very robust debate, which the listeners enjoy. They are all very different personalities, and I’ll be aiming to bring yet another perspective to what promises to be a fascinating summer for Australian cricket.”

Meanwhile, Eva, along with ACRA winner Tim Lane, Tony Leonard, Karl Langdon, Peter Psaltis, and Mark Levy will be Macquarie’s ball-by-ball commentators this summer.

Please login with linkedin to comment

lynx pitch black Mike Hussey Mr Cricket

Latest News