CRA chief calls for reduced regulation

CRA chief calls for reduced regulation

Commercial Radio Australia (CRA) chief executive officer Joan Warner has called for a review and reduction of the regulations the govern radio in this country.

Speaking after the CRA board of directors was re-elected unopposed at Friday’s AGM in Brisbane, Warner said the board was united in its view that regulation on commercial radio in this country must be reviewed and reduced in an increasingly competitive media and communications environment.

“Traditional media, and in particular commercial radio, is operating in an increasingly complex and convergent media and communications environment, often with one hand tied behind its back in a regulatory sense,” she said. “We compete for advertising dollars on a daily basis with newer platforms that are largely unregulated in relation to either content or advertising. It is time we had a level playing field.”

At the AGM, Southern Cross Austereo (SCA) chief executive officer, Rhys Holleran, was re-elected as chair of CRA, after replacing DMG Radio CEO, Cathy O’Connor in 2012.

The re elected CRA Board:

Rhys Holleran, chief executive officer of Southern Cross Austereo, elected as Chairman of Commercial Radio Australia.

Grant Cameron, Director of Grant Broadcasting, elected as Vice-Chairman Regional.

CRA Board:

Kevin Blyton – Managing Director, Capital Radio Network

Greg Cupitt – Super Radio Network

Geraint Davies – Chief Operating Officer, Australian Radio Network (ARN)

Ciaran Davis – Chief Executive Officer, Australian Radio Network

Guy Dobson – Chief Content Officer, Southern Cross Austereo

Adam Lang – Chief Executive Officer, Fairfax Radio Network

Rob Loewenthal – Managing Director, Macquarie Radio Network (MRN)

Cathy O’Connor – Chief Executive Officer, DMG Radio

Please login with linkedin to comment

Latest News