AWARD School Creates International ‘Super Jury’ For National Comp

AWARD School Creates International ‘Super Jury’ For National Comp

The Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association (AWARD) has announced an international ‘Super Jury’ to select the top student in the National AWARD School Competition, with the winner offered a once in a lifetime opportunity to meet David Droga in NYC.

The national competition coincides with the 30th anniversary of a teenage Droga – founder and creative chairman of renowned agency Droga5 – winning Top Student at AWARD School in 1987.

To mark the occasion, AWARD School will fly the national winner to NYC to meet Droga and to compare their winning portfolios from 1987 and 2017.

David Droga

David Droga

AWARD Chair Mike Spirkovski said: “AWARD has a long and proud history of nurturing and launching the careers of some of the industry’s most recognisable pioneers, including David Droga.

“We are delighted to celebrate the anniversary with such a fitting initiative and to present this exclusive opportunity to our AWARD School students.”

“On behalf of the committee, I would also like to extend our sincere gratitude to our Super Jury, comprising leading creatives from around the world, for offering their time and expertise.”

This year’s five state winners from Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane will have their books judged by the following AWARD School Super Jury members:

  • Sarah Barclay, global executive creative director (ECD), JWT New York (AWARD School winner, 1984)
  • Margaret Johnson, chief commercial officer (CCO), Goodby, Silverstein & Partners San Francisco
  • Linda Knight, ECD, TBWA\Chiat\Day Los Angeles (AWARD School, 1992)
  • Nick Law, vice chairman and global CCO, R/GA New York
  • James McGrath, creative chairman, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne
  • Ben Priest, founder and group CCO, adam&eveDDB London
  • Eric Quennoy, ECD, Wieden & Kennedy Amsterdam
  • Ted Royer, CCO, Droga5 New York
  • Kate Stanners, chairwoman and global CCO, Saatchi & Saatchi
  • Jureeporn Thaidumrong, chairwoman and CCO, Grey Bangkok

The trip to NYC to meet Droga has been sponsored by The Sweet Shop and Clerehan Pty. Ltd.

“This is an award jury and opportunity of epic scale,” Wilf Sweetland, managing partner at The Sweet Shop, said.

“I am extremely proud to have The Sweet Shop celebrate Droga’s 30th and to help facilitate such an amazing prize for the winner.”

Esther Clerehan, who proposed the NYC prize and has been instrumental in developing the idea, added: “This project has been an obsession of mine since David mentioned he still had his AWARD School book in a conversation last year in New York.

“It has fitted so neatly around the 30th anniversary of Droga’s AWARD School win and his recent elevation at Cannes with the Lion of St Mark award.”

Droga is Cannes Lions’ most awarded creative of all time, yet his 1987 AWARD School trophy is the only one he features alongside his 2017 Lion of St Mark award in his NYC office.

Incredibly, the 2017 AWARD School national winner will also be the only person in the last 30 years outside of Droga’s children to see the portfolio that landed Droga his big break at OMON.

All interstate winners will be flown to Sydney for the national announcement on Monday August 7, with the NYC trip scheduled for the week of September 25.

Full competition details, including graduation dates, are available here.

Please login with linkedin to comment

Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association Big Important Meetings National AWARD School Competition Streaming the gruen transfer

Latest News

Creating Efficiencies in the Age of Consumer Privacy
  • Marketing

Creating Efficiencies in the Age of Consumer Privacy

In this opinion piece, Jess Miles, Country Manager ANZ of Integral Ad Science, reflects on the questions surrounding consumer data. The ability to collect consumer data online has revolutionised digital advertising by enabling customised targeting strategies and data collection. This reliance on data has been the cornerstone of many audience targeted strategies enabling marketers to […]


by Kathleen Farmilo

Kathleen Farmilo
Jye Smith Named President Of Vibewire Board
  • Media

Jye Smith Named President Of Vibewire Board

After ten years of board leadership of the young entrepreneurial collective Vibewire, Founder & Co-CEO of Disruptors Co. Gavin Heaton is passing the torch to fellow strategy and creative leader Jye Smith, Founder and Director of branding and design studio DOUBLESTAR CO, who will now take over as Board President.

Australian CDP Lexer Raises $33.5M In Funding
  • Technology

Australian CDP Lexer Raises $33.5M In Funding

Lexer, the Customer Data Platform for brands and retailers, today announced it has raised AU$33.5 million in Series B funding, bringing its total funding to AU$43 million. The round was led by Blackbird Ventures and King River Capital, with Series A investor January Capital also participating. Blackbird’s Rick Baker will join the Lexer board. The […]