The Women In Media People’s Choice Race Heats Up!

Close up of a heating coil element

Voting in B&T’s Women in Media People’s Choice Award is going gangbusters, with some early front-runners surging into mammoth leads, while other fancied contenders have fallen by the wayside.

There’s still time to get your picks in, but the hours are ticking away. Voting closes at 5pm this Friday (11 August), so don’t delay, dear readers!

In the tightest fought category, the two-horse race for Best Ad Campaign – Championing the Equality Cause, TBWA Melbourne have snatched back the lead from Host, but it’s still a nail-biter. Host’s Redefining Women has snared 49.9 per cent of the vote, while TBWA Melbourne’s campaign for ANZ has 50.1 per cent. This one is clearly going to the wire. So, to get your favoured campaign over the line, go on and vote now.

In the employer of choice category, OMD Australia has slipped to third (50 votes off the pace) since our last update, with TBWA Melbourne leading by just four votes from The Works. It’s edge-of-the-seat stuff in this category.

Of course, neither the Campaign of the Year, nor the employer can grab a gong on the night. That doesn’t mean, however, we won’t announce the winners and therefore the bragging rights up for grabs.

The same goes for the chaps in the Male Champions of Change Award. That race is still being led by Chris Chynoweth from Fox Sports, who is a slender 40 votes ahead of Kevin Macmillan from The Works in Sydney, with Allure Media’s Jason Scott just 20 votes further back.

In a breakdown by category, the standings as of 11.30am today are set out below. For expediency, we’ve listed only the top three in each category. If you’re in the race and not listed anywhere below, chin up – there’s still time to get back in the hunt. Encourage your friends, family and loved ones to vote for you here.


1. Alison Cole, GrooveQ Sydney

2. Carmela Soares, Isobar Australia

3. Helen James, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne

Creative Producer:

1. Sally Knight, Kinderling Kids Radio

2. Penny Win, Foxtel

3. Karen Bryson, FINCH


1. Susannah George, The Urban List

2. Taryn Williams,

3. Sarah Wyse, Wyse Women


1. Kim Barnard, The Urban List

2. Shevonne Hunt, Kinderling Kid Radio

3. Denise McKeon, Clemenger BBDO Sydney


1. Menka Nasta, Fairfax Media

2. Allana May, Priceline Pharmacy

3. Elaine Herlihy, PayPal Australia

Media Planner/Buyer:

1. Jane Sullivan, MEC Global

2. Katherine Pochroj, MediaCom

3. Catherine Krantz, Carat


1. Clare Stewart Hunter, Gemba

2. Sarah Keith, Publicis Media

3. Sarah Wyse, Wyse Women

Public Relations:

1. Bessie Hassan,

2. Georgie Cavanagh, TRIBE

3. Camilla Ibrahim, Google Australia & New Zealand

Rising Star:

1. Ingrid Kesa, Vice

2. Katherine Pochroj, MediaCom

3. Tish Tambakau, Dentsu Aegis Network

Sales/Account Manager:

1. Kate Parry, Adshel

2. Kim Norman, Adshel

3. Naomi Gorringe, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne


1. Carly Drew, Isobar Australia

2. Imogen Hewitt, Havas Media Group Australia

3. Venessa Hunt, GroupM


1. Kruti Patel, Isobar Australia

2. Taryn Williams,

3. SallyAnn Williams, Google Australia

Make sure you don’t miss out on witnessing who will be crowned the 2017 People’s Choice winner as well as all of our other winners on the evening by securing your ticket to our gala sit-down dinner and show here. And, of course, don’t forget to book your tickets for the The 3% Conference Australasia today too.

Women in Media Awards sponsor block


Please login with linkedin to comment

Advertising Standards Bureau Brian Walker einsights junk food advertising something rotten

Latest News