SCA Boss Grant Blackley Elected New Chair Of Commercial Radio Australia

SCA Boss Grant Blackley Elected New Chair Of Commercial Radio Australia

Commercial Radio Australia (CRA) has elected Southern Cross Austereo (SCA) chief executive Grant Blackley as its new chair at the industry body’s annual general meeting.

Blackley replaces Macquarie Media CEO Adam Lang as chair of CRA, who has stepped down after four years in the role. Lang has been on CRA the board since 2012, and will remain on the board and retain his role as chair of the CRA Research Committee.

Having worked in the media and entertainment sector for more than 30 years, Blackley has been the boss of SCA for more than three-and-a-half years. He has been a director of CRA’s board since 2015 and also serves as a director at Free TV Australia.

He has held numerous other senior leadership roles throughout his career, including as CEO of the Ten Network from 2005 from 2012.

Commenting on his new role, Blackley said: “The commercial radio industry is a dynamic and innovative multiplatform medium, and I look forward to working collaboratively as chair of CRA with all key stakeholders including the networks and station members, industry commentators and observers, as well as key political and government agencies.”

Dr Grant Cameron, director of Grant Broadcasters and vice-chair of the CRA Regional Committee, has resigned from the CRA board after 12 years.

Alison Cameron, who was appointed CEO of the family-owned regional broadcaster in July this year, has been elected to CRA’s board and will also serve as the vice-chair of the CRA Regional Committee.

Ciaran Davis, managing director and CEO of the Australian Radio Network (ARN) and HT&E, has returned to the CRA board, replacing outgoing ARN boss Rob Atkinson.

Following the conclusion of the AGM, CRA chief Joan Warner thanked Lang for his leadership, support and commitment to the industry body, and Grant Cameron for his long service on the board and his leadership of the Regional Committee.

The new-look CRA board is as follows:

  • Grant Blackley, SCA (chair)
  • Alison Cameron, Grant Broadcasters (vice-chair of Regional Committee)
  • Adam Lang, Macquarie Media
  • Kevin Blyton, Capital Radio Network
  • Greg Cupitt, Super Radio Network
  • Michael Harvey, ARN
  • Ciaran Davis, ARN and HT&E
  • Lisa Young, Macquarie Media
  • Cathy O’Connor, NOVA Entertainment
  • Tony Hudson, SCA
  • Peter Colosimo, NOVA Entertainment


Please login with linkedin to comment

Adam Lang Commercial Radio Australia CRA grant blackley macquarie media SCA Southern Cross Austereo

Latest News