Netflix has launched Profile Transfer, a feature that lets people using your account transfer a profile when they start their own membership.
The new tool ensures that personalised recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games, and other settings are transferred from the old account to the new one, meaning that users are not left high-and-dry without recommended content.
“People move. Families grow. Relationships end. But throughout these life changes, your Netflix experience should stay the same,” the company said.
The new and “much requested” feature is available to all members around the world from today.
Existing users will be notified by email as soon as Profile Transfer becomes available on your account. In order to transfer a profile, you’ll need to head to the “Transfer Profile” option, available when you hover over the profile icon in the dropdown menu on the homepage.
You can also turn off Profile Transfer at any time.
The news will be big for Netflix’s bottom line as the company approaches a peak in user numbers. It also comes shortly after the company announced a $6.99 per month ad-supported tier to ensure that anyone can get their own Netflix account.