In a win for facebook users everywhere, facebook messenger has released a new feature that allows users to delete sent messages for everyone, as long as you do it within 10 minutes.
Everyone has experienced the dread that comes with sending a message too soon (or a message that should never have been sent at all).
Facebook has heard your pleas and has introduced the Remove for Everyone feature.
Debuting for iOS and Android users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia and Lithuania last November, the feature is now available globally on both operating systems.
Messages sent to either individual people or groups can be deleted within 10 minutes after they are sent by tapping on them and choosing Remove for Everyone.
However, the deleted message will be replaced by text indicating that it was removed, much like how it works on WhatsApp.
When the new feature first came to life last November, Facebook said it would retain message that are removed “for a short period of time: in order to review them for any policy violations in the event those messages are reported prior to deletion.
Messenger VP Stan Chudnovsky told TechCrunch last November: “We need to make sure that we don’t open up any new venues for bullying.
“We need to make sure people aren’t sending you bad messages and then removing them, because if you report them and the messages aren’t there, we can’t do anything”.
Still, B&T thinks this new feature is a huge win for messenger users everywhere (especially those with the proclivity of sending drunken 2am messages to their exes).