Finalists Announced For 2017 Newspaper Of The Year Awards

Finalists Announced For 2017 Newspaper Of The Year Awards

The finalists for the 2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards – that recognise excellence in news media publishing in print and online, photography, environmental initiatives and print and production – have been announced.

The awards, known as the PANPAs, attracted a higher number of entries than previous years, coming from publishers across Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific and Asia.

The awards, sponsored by Norske Skog, are open to national, metropolitan, regional, rural and community news media brands in Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands and Asia.

They place an emphasis on the quality of journalism, cross platform execution, design and the ability to engage audiences across multiple platforms.

The full list of finalists for this year’s awards can be found here.

The Newspaper of the Year awards will be presented at a gala dinner on Wednesday 6 September at the conclusion of the INFORM News Media Summit at the International Convention Centre in Sydney. The awards will be hosted by The Chaser’s Craig Reucassel and Andrew Hansen.

NewsMediaWorks CEO Peter Miller said: “Our news media brands continue to be among the best in the world, and this year’s standard of entries again reflected a high level of excellence in each category.

“Our judging panel had the challenging task of selecting the best of the best for the hotly-contested awards. The PANPAs are the region’s pre-eminent awards in the news media industry, and I’d like to congratulate all the finalists,”

Judges for the 2017 Awards are: Andrew McKean, Miguel D’Souza, Earl Wilkinson, Tony Gilles, Peter Miller, Tim Burrowes, Foad Fadahgi, Samantha Amjadali, Tim Bauer, Camila Carmody, Christopher Getts, Alan Howe, Grant Booker, Rick Slowgrove, Paul Burston, Mal Dale, Peter Netchaef, Jon Reid, Peter Clark, David Roles, Steve Packham, Eva Rinaldi, Ian Moore, Damien Munday, Christopher Pash, John Hancock, Mark Dadswell, Gavin Ellis, Andy Moger, Ed Efchak, Karyn Krawford, David Hovenden, Nisin Sunito, Mark Hollands, Simon Wake, Charlie Murdoch, Herbert Kieleithner, Michael Van Wyk, Brian Hill, Udesh Gunatunga, Greg Graham, Kellie Northwood, Frank Masterson, Mary Ann Azer, Cheryl Stanion, Peter Cornelius, Phillip Campbell, Roger Coombs, Michael Rose, Mark Sharman, Steve Davis, and Jane Schulze.

Please login with linkedin to comment

2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards live chat NewsMediaWorks strategist

Latest News