Copyright Agency Appoints Two New Board Directors

Copyright Agency Appoints Two New Board Directors

The Copyright Agency has announced the appointment of two new board directors at its annual general meeting last week.

Kim Williams, chairman of the Copyright Agency, welcomed Aboriginal arts consultant Jason Eades to the board as an independent director.

Eades will replace outgoing independent director Bronwyn Bancroft, who has served on the board for nine years.

“Jason has extensive experience in the not-for-profit sector, strong visual arts credentials, standing within the Indigenous and creative community, and a well-developed business sense,” Williams said.

“I am very pleased he will be bringing this significant expertise to the Copyright Agency.”

Jason Eades

Jason Eades

Williams also thanked Bancroft for her contribution to the board.

“Bronwyn is a highly accomplished artist with a deep knowledge of the visual arts sector and the difficulties for all artists, and particularly for Indigenous artists, in sustaining their practice,” he said.

“Bronwyn has made a huge contribution to all aspects of the operation of the Copyright Agency. She brought knowledge, passion and reasoned arguments to supporting really important projects – projects which I am confident in saying have made a difference.”

Williams also confirmed the appointment of Dr Oliver Watts to the company’s board as interim artist director as a result of the merger between the Copyright Agency and Viscopy, which was finalised yesterday after overwhelming support from the organisation’s two memberships.

Dr Watts was a director on the Viscopy board and curated the organisation’s John Fries Award in both 2015 and 2016.

Oliver Watts

Oliver Watts

“Oliver is a multi-faceted artist, communicator and advocate for the visual arts. He will certainly bring a unique and lively perspective to our board deliberations,” Williams said.

“These appointments mark a new phase for our board which promises to serve the interests of our wider membership creatively and with passion.”

Two other board members who were due to complete their terms, David Barnett (APA-appointed director) and Helen O’Neill (ASA-appointed director), were reappointed for a three-year term ending at the 2020 AGM.

Please login with linkedin to comment

Bronwyn Bancroft Copyright Agency Dr Oliver Watts Jason Eades

Latest News