Award School VIC Announces Top 10 Graduates

Award School VIC Announces Top 10 Graduates

Eddie Coghlan has been awarded Top of Class at the 2016 AWARD School Victoria graduation ceremony, which took place at Smart Artz Gallery in Melbourne last night.

As part of the program, Coghlan was tutored by two agencies – Joe Sibley and Giles Watson of Clemenger BBDO and Andy Segal and Chris Hince of JWT/GTB. Close to 180 industry professionals, sponsors, media and graduates came together to celebrate the graduation of 50 Victorian students who have now completed the pre-eminent training program for aspiring creatives and art directors in Australia and New Zealand.

Top 10 Students:

1st place – Eddie Coghlan

2nd place – Jerry Scott

3rd place – Tallon Mason-Kaine

The final seven graduates to make the Vic top 10, in no particular order, include:

* Nic Molyneux

* Nick Chadwick

* Alison Erlanger

* Daniel Erczmann

* Connie Devine

* Josh Mann

* Grga Calic

Preparing the graduates for the next step in their careers, AWARD chair and managing partner of The Sweet Shop, Wilf Sweetland, said: “AWARD School is the pre-eminent, most highly sought after, and most highly regarded course in Australasia that teaches students how to think creatively. What these students have achieved over 12 weeks is an excellent grounding for a long and rewarding career in commercial creativity. We look forward to welcoming them into the industry, supporting their development and celebrating with them as they graduate this evening.”

From more than 500 submissions, a selection of 65 outstanding pieces were chosen for display by this year’s jury. VIC AWARD School Heads Elle Bullen (Senior Creative, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne), Michael Mulcahy (Senior Copywriter, J. Walter Thompson) and James Orr (Senior Creative, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne) congratulated the students on their work and achievements and thanked the tutors for their enthusiasm and commitment.

Bullen said: “What an outstanding bunch of talented new creatives, we feel privileged to have mentored these students over the past 12 weeks. James, Michael and I have found the experience hugely rewarding and we’re thrilled to see the final work on display, and to celebrate the start of so many budding careers in this industry. Well done guys, we look forward to following your next achievements.”

AWARD School sponsor News Corp was represented on the night by Julia Mengoni, Head of Trade Marketing, Metro & Regional who applauded the standard of work and the association “We are thrilled to be a part this year’s AWARD School program, the standard of work is impressive and represents a new breed of creative talent. We look forward to sharing more about our Press for Change program in the coming weeks as we launch into creative agencies and the AWARD school finalists are selected.”

A special thank you to the following tutors and agencies who mentored the students over the 3 month program.

CHE Proximity – Andy Roberts & Deb Frenkel

CLEMENGER BBDO – Joe Sibley & Giles Watson

DDB – Sophie Beard & Anna Stickley

ISOBAR – Michael Punton & Holly Langford

WHYBIN TBWA – Matt Stoddart & Ashwin Gopal

JWT/GTB – Andy Segal & Chris Hince

LEO BURNETT – Stacey Karryannis & Emma Clowes

CUMMINS & PARTNERS – Regina Stroombergen & Adam Slater

OGILVY – Alex Little & Karsten Jurkschat

PUBLICIS – Ryan Petie & David Schaak

Please login with linkedin to comment

Latest News