SMH The Clear Leader For Cross-Platform Readership In October: emma Data

SMH The Clear Leader For Cross-Platform Readership In October: emma Data
SHARE
THIS



News media in print and on digital devices is read by nine in 10, or 16.9 million Australians, according to the latest Enhanced Media Metrics Australia (emma) data1.

A total of 13 million people, or 69 per cent of the population, read newspapers in October, while digital news media content on smartphones, tablets and PCs was read by 13.6 million people.

National news media was read by 2.5 million, or 13 per cent, of the population. Metro newspapers were read by 10.7 million people, or 57 per cent of consumers, over the same period.

Regional and community news media brands were read by 6.7 million people, or 36 per cent of the population during October. A total of 3.1 million people (or 17 per cent aged 14-plus), read regional newspapers, while community newspapers were read by 3.8 million (or 20 per cent aged 14-plus).

NewsMediaWorks CEO Peter Miller said news media has shown remarkable resilience and stability in the year to October, demonstrating that audiences continue to seek and engage with trusted, quality journalism.

“Consumers rate news media as the most trusted channel for both content and ads, according to the recent ADTRUST study by Galaxy Research,” he said.

“In a year that has been marred by fake news and dubious content, news media delivers advertisers large and engaged audiences in a premium, brand-safe environment.”

The Sydney Morning Herald is Australia’s highest-reaching title across all platforms with 5.42 million readers. The Daily Telegraph followed, reaching 4.56 million readers, and the Herald Sun on 4.28 million.

Cross-platform readership (000s, last four weeks) October 2017
The Sydney Morning Herald / smh.com.au 5,420
The Daily Telegraph / thetelegraph.com.au 4,575
Herald Sun / heraldsun.com.au 4,276
The Australian / theaustralian.com.au 3,265
The Age / theage.com.au 3,049
Courier-Mail / couriermail.com.au 2,810
Adelaide Advertiser / AdelaideNow.com.au 1,728
The West Australian / thewest.com.au 1,699
The Australian Financial Review / afr.com.au 1,618
The Sunday Times / perthnow.com.au 1,457
The Canberra Times / canberratimes.com.au 732
Newcastle Herald / theherald.com.au 609
Gold Coast Bulletin / goldcoast.com.au 498
Sunshine Coast Daily / sunshinecoastdaily.com.au 483
Mercury / themercury.com.au 386


Latest News